Spirulina and chlorella (greens) comparison: heavy-metal lab reports and price per day (UK + EU)

6 spirulina and chlorella powders; 6 are lab verified with an independent batch report we re-opened ourselves on 22 Oct 2026 (4 from EU sellers: Sunday Natural and Eltabia, Germany; 2 from a UK seller: PlantPills, Nottingham).

Prices were checked on the seller pages on 22 Oct 2026 and the price per day is calculated at the label dose; € and £ are never mixed or converted. All six are single-ingredient powders with no fillers declared.

Red flags are shown on each product: the PlantPills reports date from Jun 2025, Sunday Natural’s spirulina has the highest total arsenic (0.62 mg/kg) and an unclear origin, PlantPills chlorella has the highest lead (0.183 mg/kg), and none of the reports measured PAHs or microcystins.

Read our answer page → · About greens ↓

Seaweed, kelp and sea moss are compared separately →

Tap a column heading to sort. Price sorting groups by currency (€, then £, then others), so € and £ are never mixed.

Heavy metals (mg/kg)Label matchFillersForm & servingSellersRed flags
PlantPills Spirulina Powder 250 gPlantPillsLab verified2 Jun 2025Report0.038 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.005 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.055 (no EU limit)UnknownNone
Powder (also sold as 100% pressed tablets)
Build up to 5 g a day (2 level 5 ml teaspoons); stated upper level 30 g a day (label)
£0.34/day (UK)
calculated: £16.99 ÷ 50 · 5 g a day · also 500 g £32.99, 1 kg £60.99, 2 kg £112.99
⚠ 4 red flags
  • The report is dated 2 Jun 2025 (about 17 months old on 22 Oct 2026) and passes 18 months in Dec 2026; the certificate image still describes it as the current batch.
  • The Eurofins certificate is posted as a JPEG on the brand’s own forum with a PlantPills banner added, not as a PDF.
  • The sample was supplied by the brand and is described only by batch (YA-AD-03); the certificate does not say whether it was powder or tablets.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report (the EU sets PAH limits for food supplements containing spirulina; there is no legal limit for microcystins).
Eltabia Bio Chlorella Pulver (organic chlorella powder) 1 kgEltabiaLab verified13 Jul 2026Report0.078 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.015 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.069 (no EU limit)UnknownNone
Powder (bag)
About 4 g a day (1 teaspoon, label)
€0.16/day (EU)
calculated: €39.99 ÷ 250 · about 4 g a day · also 200 g €16.99 and 500 g €24.99
⚠ 3 red flags
  • The report was run on a 200 g pack (lot CP24032); the price shown is for the 1 kg bag, which may be a different lot: check the lot number on your pack.
  • No microbiology in the published report; the sample was sent in by the brand.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report.
Eltabia Bio Spirulina Pulver (organic spirulina powder) 1 kgEltabiaLab verified13 Jul 2026Report0.11 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.025 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.51 (no EU limit)UnknownNone
Powder (bag)
About 5 g a day (1 teaspoon, label)
€0.17/day (EU)
calculated: €34.99 ÷ 200 · about 5 g a day · also 200 g €17.99 and 500 g €24.99
⚠ 4 red flags
  • The report was run on a 200 g pack (lot CZORGLX250503F); the price shown is for the 1 kg bag, which may be a different lot: check the lot number on your pack.
  • Total arsenic 0.51 mg/kg (no EU limit for arsenic in supplements; inorganic arsenic was not measured).
  • Country of cultivation not stated on the product page; no microbiology in the published report.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report (the EU sets PAH limits for food supplements containing spirulina; there is no legal limit for microcystins).
Sunday Natural Premium Organic Chlorella Powder 150 gSunday NaturalLab verified24 Sep 2026Report<0.020 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.040 (well under the EU limit or below detection)UnknownNone
Powder (amber glass jar)
3 g a day (1 teaspoon in 200 ml water, label)
€0.26/day (EU)
calculated: €12.90 ÷ 50 · 3 g a day · price incl. VAT, excl. shipping
⚠ 2 red flags
  • The sample was sent in by the brand (one 150 g jar, batch L06606): check the batch number on your jar.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report.
PlantPills Chlorella Powder 250 gPlantPillsLab verified2 Jun 2025Report0.183 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.006 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.005 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.186 (no EU limit)UnknownNone
Powder (also sold as 100% pressed tablets)
Build up to 5 g a day (2 level 5 ml teaspoons); stated upper level 30 g a day (label)
£0.36/day (UK)
calculated: £17.99 ÷ 50 · 5 g a day · also 500 g £33.99, 1 kg £63.99, 2 kg £116.99
⚠ 5 red flags
  • The report is dated 2 Jun 2025 (about 17 months old on 22 Oct 2026) and passes 18 months in Dec 2026; the certificate image still describes it as the current batch.
  • The Eurofins certificate is posted as a JPEG on the brand’s own forum with a PlantPills banner added, not as a PDF.
  • Lead 0.183 mg/kg, the highest of our six spirulina and chlorella powders (about 6% of the EU limit of 3.0).
  • The sample was supplied by the brand and is described only by batch (YB-AD-04); the certificate does not say whether it was powder or tablets.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report.
Sunday Natural Organic Spirulina Powder 225 gSunday NaturalLab verified24 Sep 2026Report0.10 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)<0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)0.62 (no EU limit)UnknownNone
Powder (amber glass jar)
4 g a day (1 heaped teaspoon in 200 ml water, label)
€0.41/day (EU)
calculated: €22.90 ÷ 56 · 4 g a day · also 2 × 225 g €43.51
⚠ 4 red flags
  • Origin unclear: the product page says non-EU agriculture, but the lab report names the sample “Bio Spirulina Portugal Pulver”.
  • Total arsenic 0.62 mg/kg, the highest of our six spirulina and chlorella powders (no EU limit for arsenic in supplements; inorganic arsenic was not measured).
  • The sample was sent in by the brand (one 225 g jar, batch L03617): check the batch number on your jar.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report (the EU sets PAH limits for food supplements containing spirulina; there is no legal limit for microcystins).
Heavy-metal colours: Well under the EU limit (below half) or below detection Near the EU limit (half the limit up to the limit) Over the EU limit Grey: no EU limit (arsenic), not tested, or the lab’s reporting limit is above the EU limitEU 2023/915 limits for food supplements: lead (Pb) 3.0, cadmium (Cd) 1.0, mercury (Hg) 0.10 mg/kg. Values in mg/kg. NT = not tested; c = calculated by us from µg per serving.

Pb = lead, Cd = cadmium, Hg = mercury, As = arsenic, all in mg/kg. “<” means below the lab’s detection limit. Pass* = certificate states compliance without a figure. — = no data. Label match = the lab measured the active content against the label. The lab name, full notes and per-serving details are on each product page.

PlantPills Spirulina Powder 250 g

Brand
PlantPills
Lab-test status
Lab verified2 Jun 2025Report
Heavy metals (mg/kg)
Pb 0.038 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Cd 0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Hg <0.005 (well under the EU limit or below detection)As 0.055 (no EU limit)
Label match
Unknown
Fillers
None
Form & serving
Powder (also sold as 100% pressed tablets)
Build up to 5 g a day (2 level 5 ml teaspoons); stated upper level 30 g a day (label)
Price per daily dose
£0.34/day (UK)
calculated: £16.99 ÷ 50 · 5 g a day · also 500 g £32.99, 1 kg £60.99, 2 kg £112.99
Sellers
Red flags
⚠ 4 red flags
  • The report is dated 2 Jun 2025 (about 17 months old on 22 Oct 2026) and passes 18 months in Dec 2026; the certificate image still describes it as the current batch.
  • The Eurofins certificate is posted as a JPEG on the brand’s own forum with a PlantPills banner added, not as a PDF.
  • The sample was supplied by the brand and is described only by batch (YA-AD-03); the certificate does not say whether it was powder or tablets.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report (the EU sets PAH limits for food supplements containing spirulina; there is no legal limit for microcystins).

Eltabia Bio Chlorella Pulver (organic chlorella powder) 1 kg

Brand
Eltabia
Lab-test status
Lab verified13 Jul 2026Report
Heavy metals (mg/kg)
Pb 0.078 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Cd <0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Hg 0.015 (well under the EU limit or below detection)As 0.069 (no EU limit)
Label match
Unknown
Fillers
None
Form & serving
Powder (bag)
About 4 g a day (1 teaspoon, label)
Price per daily dose
€0.16/day (EU)
calculated: €39.99 ÷ 250 · about 4 g a day · also 200 g €16.99 and 500 g €24.99
Sellers
Red flags
⚠ 3 red flags
  • The report was run on a 200 g pack (lot CP24032); the price shown is for the 1 kg bag, which may be a different lot: check the lot number on your pack.
  • No microbiology in the published report; the sample was sent in by the brand.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report.

Eltabia Bio Spirulina Pulver (organic spirulina powder) 1 kg

Brand
Eltabia
Lab-test status
Lab verified13 Jul 2026Report
Heavy metals (mg/kg)
Pb 0.11 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Cd 0.025 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Hg <0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)As 0.51 (no EU limit)
Label match
Unknown
Fillers
None
Form & serving
Powder (bag)
About 5 g a day (1 teaspoon, label)
Price per daily dose
€0.17/day (EU)
calculated: €34.99 ÷ 200 · about 5 g a day · also 200 g €17.99 and 500 g €24.99
Sellers
Red flags
⚠ 4 red flags
  • The report was run on a 200 g pack (lot CZORGLX250503F); the price shown is for the 1 kg bag, which may be a different lot: check the lot number on your pack.
  • Total arsenic 0.51 mg/kg (no EU limit for arsenic in supplements; inorganic arsenic was not measured).
  • Country of cultivation not stated on the product page; no microbiology in the published report.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report (the EU sets PAH limits for food supplements containing spirulina; there is no legal limit for microcystins).

Sunday Natural Premium Organic Chlorella Powder 150 g

Brand
Sunday Natural
Lab-test status
Lab verified24 Sep 2026Report
Heavy metals (mg/kg)
Pb <0.020 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Cd <0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Hg <0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)As <0.040 (well under the EU limit or below detection)
Label match
Unknown
Fillers
None
Form & serving
Powder (amber glass jar)
3 g a day (1 teaspoon in 200 ml water, label)
Price per daily dose
€0.26/day (EU)
calculated: €12.90 ÷ 50 · 3 g a day · price incl. VAT, excl. shipping
Sellers
Red flags
⚠ 2 red flags
  • The sample was sent in by the brand (one 150 g jar, batch L06606): check the batch number on your jar.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report.

PlantPills Chlorella Powder 250 g

Brand
PlantPills
Lab-test status
Lab verified2 Jun 2025Report
Heavy metals (mg/kg)
Pb 0.183 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Cd 0.006 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Hg <0.005 (well under the EU limit or below detection)As 0.186 (no EU limit)
Label match
Unknown
Fillers
None
Form & serving
Powder (also sold as 100% pressed tablets)
Build up to 5 g a day (2 level 5 ml teaspoons); stated upper level 30 g a day (label)
Price per daily dose
£0.36/day (UK)
calculated: £17.99 ÷ 50 · 5 g a day · also 500 g £33.99, 1 kg £63.99, 2 kg £116.99
Sellers
Red flags
⚠ 5 red flags
  • The report is dated 2 Jun 2025 (about 17 months old on 22 Oct 2026) and passes 18 months in Dec 2026; the certificate image still describes it as the current batch.
  • The Eurofins certificate is posted as a JPEG on the brand’s own forum with a PlantPills banner added, not as a PDF.
  • Lead 0.183 mg/kg, the highest of our six spirulina and chlorella powders (about 6% of the EU limit of 3.0).
  • The sample was supplied by the brand and is described only by batch (YB-AD-04); the certificate does not say whether it was powder or tablets.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report.

Sunday Natural Organic Spirulina Powder 225 g

Brand
Sunday Natural
Lab-test status
Lab verified24 Sep 2026Report
Heavy metals (mg/kg)
Pb 0.10 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Cd <0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)Hg <0.010 (well under the EU limit or below detection)As 0.62 (no EU limit)
Label match
Unknown
Fillers
None
Form & serving
Powder (amber glass jar)
4 g a day (1 heaped teaspoon in 200 ml water, label)
Price per daily dose
€0.41/day (EU)
calculated: €22.90 ÷ 56 · 4 g a day · also 2 × 225 g €43.51
Sellers
Red flags
⚠ 4 red flags
  • Origin unclear: the product page says non-EU agriculture, but the lab report names the sample “Bio Spirulina Portugal Pulver”.
  • Total arsenic 0.62 mg/kg, the highest of our six spirulina and chlorella powders (no EU limit for arsenic in supplements; inorganic arsenic was not measured).
  • The sample was sent in by the brand (one 225 g jar, batch L03617): check the batch number on your jar.
  • PAHs and microcystins were not measured in the report (the EU sets PAH limits for food supplements containing spirulina; there is no legal limit for microcystins).
Heavy-metal colours: Well under the EU limit (below half) or below detection Near the EU limit (half the limit up to the limit) Over the EU limit Grey: no EU limit (arsenic), not tested, or the lab’s reporting limit is above the EU limitEU 2023/915 limits for food supplements: lead (Pb) 3.0, cadmium (Cd) 1.0, mercury (Hg) 0.10 mg/kg. Values in mg/kg. NT = not tested; c = calculated by us from µg per serving.

EU 2023/915 limits for food supplements: lead 3.0, cadmium 1.0, mercury 0.10 mg/kg. There is no EU limit for arsenic in supplements; reports give total arsenic, while inorganic arsenic is the form that matters. PAHs and microcystins were not measured in any of these reports. Spirulina and chlorella have no authorised EU or UK health claims of their own, so we make none. Prices can change.

Not medical advice. Testing status can’t be bought; seller links may be affiliate links (see disclosure). Disclosure

Don’t see your product? Vote for it and we’ll look for and check its lab report. It’s free. Request a test →

About Greens

What it is
Spirulina (Arthrospira platensis, a blue-green microalga) and chlorella (a green freshwater microalga), dried and sold as single-ingredient powders or pressed tablets.
Common forms
Powder (jar or bag) or 100% pressed tablets.
Typical label doses
Labels in our directory give 3–5 g a day.
Note
Algae can take up heavy metals from the water they grow in, which is why batch lab reports matter. Reports usually give total arsenic only, and none of the reports we list measured PAHs or microcystins.

There are no authorised EU or GB health claims for spirulina or chlorella as such, so we do not describe any benefits.

Information only, not medical advice. Food supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Speak to a healthcare professional before use, especially if pregnant or on medication.

Other comparisons